September 3, 2022 - June 18, 2023

C O P A I N

Gerda Steiner & Jörg Lenzlinger



 

Steiner & Lenzlinger

The exhibition

Tours & Events 

Continuing exhibition

Directions

Poster exhibition Copain

 

 

The exhibition C O P A I N by artists Gerda Steiner and Jörg Lenzlinger is a hymn to bread and the people who make it - bakers, but also bread lovers from all cultures - and offers a new look at this food whose history begins with the beginnings of agriculture and which has been constantly evolving ever since.

 

 

Steiner & Lenzlinger

Gerda Steiner (*1967, Ettiswil) and Jörg Lenzlinger (*1964, Uster) are a Swiss artist duo, they live and work in Langenbruck (BL). Together they design sprawling world analyses with their installations. Imagination, political attitude, inventiveness and light-footed humor characterize their work. Now they dedicate themselves to a staple food - bread.

Picture Gerda Steiner and Jörg Lenzlinger

The exhibition

"And now the bread. The artists came across the topic thanks to an invitation for a show at Manifesta 2020 in Marseille - which, due to the pandemic, did not open until the fall of 2021 at the FRAC art center. During their research, the artists discovered the diverse baking culture of Maghrebian immigrants in their markets, and the wealth of bread forms around the Mediterranean in a museum exhibition. The theme was set. They began their research on the history and politics of wheat, on different forms of cultivation and baking, started collecting breads - and inventing them. They have now adapted and further developed the resulting exhibition "Copains" for Zurich."


Text by Mathias Balzer
To the full article

 

Breads from all over the world
Part of the exhibition consists of a large table with breads from Zurich bakeries, connected with their history. Breads from France, Russia, Italy, as well as gestalt and ritual breads - baked from historical images.

Fantasy breads
Among this already large collection are the most diverse bread creations such as: the earth bread, the tar bread, the bread with a baked remote control, the foam bread and many more.

Artists' breads
The collection includes various breads by artists such as "Aus der Backstube des Denkens" by Peter Radelfinger, "Geschnitztes Brot" by Rochus Lussi or the "Blökende Brot" by Kuno Schaub.

Breadcrumb Lab & Bread Tasting
In this part of the exhibition, visitors can put bread crumbs under the microscope and print out the fantastic pictures. To concentrate completely on the taste of bread, a dark bread tasting booth is available.

Events

13.
Dec
Guided tours / Events Special exhibition
Lussekatter - light cats baking
Tuesday, 
18:00 - 21:00, 
Mühlerama, Zurich
13.
December
Tuesday
18:00 - 21:00
Mühlerama, Zurich
Guided tours / Events Special exhibition
Lussekatter - light cats baking

Scandinavian saffron pastry - simple and refined

December 13 is traditionally Saint Lucia's Day and is celebrated in Norway, Sweden and Denmark by candlelight with singing and saffron cookies.

In this workshop we ignite...

Guided tours / Events Special exhibition
No events yet

Continuing exhibition

"Death - our daily bread"
In the Forum Sihlfeld cemetery (at the other end of the city), the artists even manage to link the life-giving bread with death.


This exhibition takes place in parallel with "Copain": In the summer of 2022, the artist couple planted a 400-square-meter wheat field of "Blé populaire" in the Sihlfeld cemetery. The harvested wheat was transported to Mühlerama , where it will in turn be used to bake artisan breads for the exhibition.


More info

 

Imprint

Artists
Gerda Steiner and Jörg Lenzlinger

Overall management
Pius Tschumi

Graphic Communication/ Catalog
Emanuel Tschumi

Exhibition setup
Andreas Bommer, René Fahrni, Moritz Gysi, Linus Maurmann, Mayo Irion, Xavi Serra, David Walsh

Bakery Mühlerama
Xavi Serra

Media
Tweaklab AG, Roland Brönnimann

Photos Catalog
Jörg Lenzlinger, Martin Stollenwerk, Reto Bühler

Publishing house
Publishing House for Modern Art, Vienna
ISBN 9783903439504
Edition 600 copies
German/ English

With financial support from
Vontobel Foundation, Cultural Office of the Canton of Zurich, Ernst Göhner Foundation, Contribution Fund of the Finance Department of the City of Zurich, Dr. Georg and Josi Guggenheim Foundation, Walter Haefner Foundation, Otto Gamma Foundation, Elisabeth Weber Foundation, Grütli Foundation Zurich, Erna and Curt Burgauer Foundation, Boner Foundation for Art and Culture, Bertschi Bakery zum Brotkorb AG

How to find us

Mühlerama
Mühle Tiefenbrunnen
Seefeldstrasse 231
8008 Zurich

Plan route

Mühlerama
Seefeldstrasse 231
8008 Zurich

Directions:
Streetcar 2 and 4 or bus 33
to Wildbachstrasse or
Tiefenbrunnen train station.
Train S6 or S16 to train station
Tiefenbrunnen.

Parking spaces:
Parking garage or parking lot of the
Mühle Tiefenbrunnen at the
Seefeldstrasse

Route planner

3. September 2022 – 18. Juni 2023

C O P A I N

Gerda Steiner & Jörg Lenzlinger



 

Steiner & Lenzlinger

Die Ausstellung

Führungen & Veranstaltungen 

Weiterführende Ausstellung

Anfahrt

Poster Ausstellung Copain

 

 

Die Ausstellung C O P A I N der Künstler Gerda Steiner und Jörg Lenzlinger ist eine Hymne an das Brot und die Menschen, die es herstellen – Bäckerinnen und Bäcker, aber auch Brotliebhaberinnen und -liebhaber aus allen Kulturen – und bietet einen neuen Blick auf dieses Lebensmittel, dessen Geschichte mit den Anfängen des Ackerbaus beginnt und das sich seither ständig weiterentwickelt hat.

 

 

Steiner & Lenzlinger

Gerda Steiner (*1967, Ettiswil) und Jörg Lenzlinger (*1964, Uster) sind ein schweizerisches Künstlerduo, sie leben und arbeiten in Langenbruck (BL). Zusammen entwerfen sie mit ihren Installationen ausufernde Welt-Analysen. Fantasie, politische Haltung, Erfindungsreichtum und leichtfüssiger Humor prägen ihr Schaffen. Nun widmen sie sich einem Grundnahrungsmittel – dem Brot.

Bild Gerda Steiner und Jörg Lenzlinger

Die Ausstellung

«Und nun also das Brot. Auf das Thema gestossen ist das Künstlerpaar dank einer Einladung für eine Schau an der Manifesta 2020 in Marseille – die, pandemiebedingt, erst im Herbst 2021 im Kunstzentrum FRAC eröffnet wurde. Auf ihren Recherchen entdeckten die Künstler auf den Märkten der maghrebinischen Einwanderer deren vielfältige Backkultur, in einer Museumsausstellung den Reichtum an Brotformen rund um das Mittelmeer. Das Thema war gesetzt. Sie begannen ihre Recherchen zur Geschichte und Politik des Weizens, zu unterschiedlichen Anbau- und Backformen, fingen an Brote zu sammeln – und zu erfinden. Die daraus entstandene Ausstellung «Copains» haben sie nun für Zürich adaptiert und weiterentwickelt.»


Text von Mathias Balzer
Zum Ganzen Artikel

 

Brote aus aller Welt
Ein Teil der Ausstellung besteht aus einem grossen Tisch mit Broten aus Zürcher Bäckereien, verbunden mit deren Geschichte. Brote aus Frankreich, Russland, Italien, sowie Gestalt- und Ritualbrote – nachgebacken von historischen Abbildungen.

Fantasie-Brote
Unter dieser bereits grossen Sammlung befinden sich verschiedenste Brotkreationen wie etwa: das Erd- und das Teerbrot, das Brot mit einer eingebackenen Fernbedienung, das Schaumstoffbrot und viele mehr.

Künstler*innen Brote
In der Sammlung befinden sich diverse Brote von Künstler*innen wie z.B: «Aus der Backstube des Denkens» von Peter Radelfinger, «Geschnitztes Brot» von Rochus Lussi oder das «Blökende Brot» von Kuno Schaub.

Brösmeli-Labor & Brotdegustation
In diesem Teil der Ausstellung können Besucher*innen Brotkrümel unter das Mikroskop legen und die fantastischen Bilder ausdrucken. Um sich mal ganz und gar auf den Geschmack vom Brot zu konzentrieren, steht eine dunkle Brotdegustationskabine bereit.

Veranstaltungen

13.
Dez
Führungen / Anlässe Sonderausstellung
Lussekatter – Lichtkatzen backen
Dienstag, 
18:00 – 21:00, 
Mühlerama, Zürich
13.
Dezember
Dienstag
18:00 – 21:00
Mühlerama, Zürich
Führungen / Anlässe Sonderausstellung
Lussekatter – Lichtkatzen backen

Skandinavisches Safrangebäck – einfach und raffiniert

Der 13. Dezember ist traditionell der Tag der heiligen Lucia und wird in Norwegen, Schweden und Dänemark bei Kerzenschein mit Gesang und Safrangebäck gefeiert.

In diesem Workshop zünden wir...

Führungen / Anlässe Sonderausstellung
Noch keine Veranstaltungen

Weiterführende Ausstellung

«Tod – unser täglich Brot»
Im Friedhof Forum Sihlfeld (am anderen Ende der Stadt), gelingt es den Künstlern sogar das lebensspendene Brot mit dem Tod zu verknüpfen.


Diese Ausstellung findet parallel zu «Copain» statt: Im Sommer 2022 hat das Künstlerpaar auf dem Friedhof Sihlfeld ein 400 Quadrameter grosses Weizenfeld aus «Blé populaire» angelegt. Der geerntete Weizen wurde ins Mühlerama transportiert, wo daraus wiederum Kunstbrote für die Ausstellung gebacken werden.


Mehr Infos

 

Impressum

KünstlerInnen
Gerda Steiner und Jörg Lenzlinger

Gesamt­leitung
Pius Tschumi

Grafik Kommunikation/ Katalog
Emanuel Tschumi

Ausstel­lungs­aufbau
Andreas Bommer, René Fahrni, Moritz Gysi, Linus Maurmann, Mayo Irion, Xavi Serra, David Walsh

Bäckerei Mühlerama
Xavi Serra

Medien
Tweaklab AG, Roland Brönnimann

Fotos Katalog
Jörg Lenzlinger, Martin Stollenwerk, Reto Bühler

Verlag
Verlag für moderne Kunst, Wien
ISBN 978­3­903439­50­4
Auflage 600 Exemplare
Deutsch/ Englisch

Mit finan­zieller Unter­stützung von
Vontobel Stiftung, Fachstelle Kultur Kanton Zürich, Ernst Göhner Stiftung, Beitragsfonds Finanzdepartement Stadt Zürich, Dr. Georg und Josi Guggenheim Stiftung, Walter Haefner Stiftung, Otto Gamma Stiftung, Elisabeth Weber Stiftung, Grütli Stiftung Zürich, Stiftung Erna und Curt Burgauer, Boner Stiftung für Kunst und Kultur, Bertschi Bäckerei zum Brotkorb AG

So finden Sie uns

Mühlerama
Mühle Tiefenbrunnen
Seefeldstrasse 231
8008 Zürich

Route planen

Mühlerama
Seefeldstrasse 231
8008 Zürich

Anfahrt:

Tram 2 und 4 oder Bus 33

bis Wildbachstrasse oder

Bahnhof Tiefenbrunnen.

Bahn S6 oder S16 bis Bahnhof
Tiefenbrunnen.

Parkplätze:

Parkhaus oder Parkplatz der

Mühle Tiefenbrunnen an der
Seefeldstrasse

Routenplaner